Sight included on our Buenos Aires Free City Tour
The site in which the Casa Rosada is located was, throughout the history of Buenos Aires, the seat of the different and successive political authorities that governed the country. Shortly after founding the City in 1580, Don Juan de Garay had a ditch and embankments excavated, enclosing the origin of what was later called “Royal Fortress of San Juan Baltasar de Austria” or “Castillo de San Miguel”. Later, in 1595, the governor Fernando de Zárate ordered to raise a walled construction of 120 meters of side, with moat and drawbridge, that was raised in the block clung by the present streets Rivadavia, Balcarce and Hipólito Yrigoyen and the Avenue Paseo Colon on The ravines that then gave the river. Finally, at the beginning of the eighteenth century a strong solid was built, entirely made of bricks, whose walls and bastions lasted until its demolition, a century and a half later. Already in the period of Independence, the House which had been the residence of Spanish governors and viceroys, housed, with very few reforms, the authorities of successive governments: the Boards, the Triumvirates, the Supreme Directors, the Governors of Buenos Aires and the First President of Argentina, Bernardino Rivadavia.
Abandoned and partially demolished, it returned to have protagonism like seat of the political government from 1862, when Miter settled with its ministers, renovating the old official residence of the fort. His successor, Sarmiento, decided to embellish the abode of the National Executive Branch, endowing it with gardens and painting the facades of pink color, with which, later, continued to characterize.
The White room originally conceived as a receptions place, is the main hall of the Palace due to its functions and size. Here are performed the most important events, such as the delivery of the attributes of command (band and presidential baton) to the new president. Oath ceremonies of Ministers and Secretaries of State, special guest receptions, international treaty signatures and major events are also held. The project and the construction of this room were the work of the architect Francesco Tamburini. Perimetral columns, with capitals of composite order (Ionic-Corinthian), present reliefs, such as vases, chimeric birds, acanthus leaves and the National Coat of Arms worked in gold leaf. The doors that open to the North and South rooms are covered with mirrors.