Sight included on our Buenos Aires Free City Tour
After several precarious constructions that did not last, in 1711 the Crown of Spain commissioned the construction of a building to house the Cabildo of the City of Buenos Aires to the Jesuit architect Father Juan Bautista Prímoli resident in Spain. The work progresses slowly and its construction only concludes in 1751. The tower is erected in 1763 and the first clock of the city is placed in her. The Cabildo was a central actor in the political process initiated in May of 1810 and that gave rise to the later independence of the then United Provinces of the Rio de la Plata of the Kingdom of Spain. For this reason, the political group that takes control of the province of Buenos Aires in 1820 that intends to finish the stage of the Revolution to start a new political cycle, decides to dissolve it. Its broad powers are divided among the three powers of the nascent provincial state. Thus, on December 21, 1821, after having remained for nearly two and a half centuries, the Cabildo made its last agreement.
In 1880 it became the seat of the National Courts. The building is adapted for this destination by the French architect Pedro Benoit who modifies the facade with a classic style and adds a third body to the tower. The opening of the Avenue of May in 1889 closes three arches of the north wing and before the possibility of its collapse it is decided to demolish the tower enlarged by Benoit. In 1931, in order to open the Diagonal Julio Argentino Roca, three arches of the southern wing were demolished, remaining until the present with this reduced size, as a symbol of the “Revolution of May” and housing the museum of the Revolution.